Keto Reuben Sandwich

 

img_2752

Today I will share with you what is possibly my favorite keto meal I’ve eaten since I started eating low carb. One of the things I miss most about cutting out carbs is eating a big fat sandwich once in a while. This Reuben solved all of my first world problems.

This bread is the most bread-like bread I’ve made so far, and is sturdy enough to hold a hefty amount of meats and cheeses. It’s the perfect amount of fluffy on the inside and crispy on the outside. But don’t let me bore you with the details. Go make this sandwich.

Ingredients:

  • 4 cups of coarsely crushed pork rinds (I used 1/2 garlic flavored, 1/2 spicy vinegar, but plain will do)
  • 1 Tbs of minced garlic
  • 4 cups of Mozzarella cheese
  • 1/8 cup of Oregano
  • 4 eggs
  • 4 Tbs of Almond Flour
  • A giant pile of corned beef
  • A few slices of swiss cheese
  • 4 Tbs of sauerkraut rinsed well and excess water squeezed out
  • 2 Tbs of Mayo
  • 2 Tbs of sugar free Ketchup

Instructions:

Microwave your cheese for 1 minute and stir. Microwave for an additional minute and stir again.

Combine the cheese with your pork rinds, garlic, oregano, eggs, and almond flour. It really helps to go in and knead it with your hands to combine it thoroughly.

DSC_0182.jpg

Spread the mixture on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet and form into a rectangle about 1/2 inch thick.

dsc_0184

Bake at 400F for 20 minutes. Remove from the oven and let cool for about 10 minutes. Meanwhile mix your may and ketchup to make your sandwich spread.

dsc_0187

Cut the bread into 4 even pieces and turn them over so the flatter side is up. Spread two of the pieces with your mayo/ketchup mixture. Pile on as much corned beef as you would like, swiss cheese, and sauerkraut, and cover with your other pieces of bread.

dsc_0199

Place back into the oven for an additional 5-10 minutes until the cheese is melted to your liking.

dsc_0208

Enjoy, and let me know how you like them!

3 thoughts on “Keto Reuben Sandwich

  1. This is absolutely delicious! I made a mistake and did not melt the mozzarella cheese before mixing. I pressed it in a pan and baked it in my toaster oven …. Little longer and lower temp. I sprinkled with caraway seeds. WOW!!! I also cut up a dill pickle and added it to the homemade dressing. This is the best Rueben sandwich, I have ever had. Thank you for sharing this recipe

    Like

Leave a comment